NICE 2021 - Agenda

(Agenda as of 2021/08/01-23:34 CEST)
Tuesday, 16 March 2021

NICE #8

CET: 14:00
EDT: 09:00
PDT: 06:00
UTC: 13:00
 
Welcome to NICE #8
show presentation.pdf (public accessible)

Link to chat channel

Johannes Schemmel (Heidelberg University)
CET: 14:15
EDT: 09:15
PDT: 06:15
UTC: 13:15
 
Organizer Round

Link to chat channel

CET: 14:40
EDT: 09:40
PDT: 06:40
UTC: 13:40
 
Keynote: Lessons from Loihi for the Future of Neuromorphic Computing
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Mike Davies (Intel)
CET: 15:25
EDT: 10:25
PDT: 07:25
UTC: 14:25
 
Why is Neuromorphic Event-based Engineering the future of AI?
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Ryad Benjamin Benosman (UPITT/CMU/SORBONNE)
CET: 15:50
EDT: 10:50
PDT: 07:50
UTC: 14:50
 
Exploring the possibilities of analog neuromorphic computing with BrainScaleS
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Johannes Schemmel (Heidelberg University)
CET: 16:15
EDT: 11:15
PDT: 08:15
UTC: 15:15
 
(break)
CET: 16:45
EDT: 11:45
PDT: 08:45
UTC: 15:45
 
Group photo (zoom screenshots)
CET: 16:55
EDT: 11:55
PDT: 08:55
UTC: 15:55
 
Evaluating complexity and resilience trade-offs in emerging memory inference machines
show presentation.pdf (public accessible)

Link to chat channel

Christopher Bennett (Sandia National Labs)
CET: 17:20
EDT: 12:20
PDT: 09:20
UTC: 16:20
 
Lightning talk: From clean room to machine room: towards accelerated cortical simulations on the BrainScaleS wafer-scale system
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Sebastian Schmitt (Heidelberg University)
CET: 17:35
EDT: 12:35
PDT: 09:35
UTC: 16:35
 
Closed-loop experiments on the BrainScaleS-2 architecture
(the presentation .pdf is accessible for meeting attendants from their 'personal page'), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Korbinian Schreiber (Heidelberg University)
CET: 18:00
EDT: 13:00
PDT: 10:00
UTC: 17:00
 
Batch << 1: Why Neuromorphic Computing Architectures Suit Real-Time Workloads
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Jonathan Tapson (School of Electrical and Data Engineering, University of Technology Sydney)
CET: 18:25
EDT: 13:25
PDT: 10:25
UTC: 17:25
 
Neuromorphic and AI research at BCAI (Bosch Center for Artificial Intelligence)
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Thomas Pfeil (Bosch Center for Artificial Intelligence)
CET: 18:50
EDT: 13:50
PDT: 10:50
UTC: 17:50
 
Mapping Deep Neural Networks on SpiNNaker2
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Florian Kelber (TU Dresden)
CET: 19:15
EDT: 14:15
PDT: 11:15
UTC: 18:15
 
Open mic / discussion

Link to chat channel

CET: 19:45
EDT: 14:45
PDT: 11:45
UTC: 18:45
End of day I
CET: 19:45
EDT: 14:45
PDT: 11:45
UTC: 18:45
(break)
CET: 21:00
EDT: 16:00
PDT: 13:00
UTC: 20:00
Tutorials: BrainScaleS and DYNAP-SE

Wednesday, 17 March 2021
CET: 10:00
EDT: 05:00
PDT: 02:00
UTC: 09:00
Tutorials: SpiNNaker and DYNAP-SE
CET: 10:30
EDT: 05:30
PDT: 02:30
UTC: 09:30
 
SpiNNaker tutorial introduction
show talk video (YouTube) (local version)
Andrew Rowley (University of Manchester)
CET: 13:00
EDT: 08:00
PDT: 05:00
UTC: 12:00
(break)
CET: 14:00
EDT: 09:00
PDT: 06:00
UTC: 13:00
NICE - day II
CET: 14:00
EDT: 09:00
PDT: 06:00
UTC: 13:00
Keynote: From Brains to Silicon -- Applying lessons from neuroscience to machine learning
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Jeff Hawkins (Numenta)
Subutai Ahmad (Numenta)
CET: 14:45
EDT: 09:45
PDT: 06:45
UTC: 13:45
A Neuromorphic Future for Classic Computing Tasks
show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Brad Aimone (Sandia National Laboratories)
CET: 15:10
EDT: 10:10
PDT: 07:10
UTC: 14:10
Lightning talk: Benchmarking of Neuromorphic Hardware Systems
(the presentation .pdf is accessible for meeting attendants from their 'personal page'), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Christoph Ostrau (Bielefeld University)
CET: 15:25
EDT: 10:25
PDT: 07:25
UTC: 14:25
Natural density cortical models as benchmarks for universal neuromorphic computers
(the presentation .pdf is accessible for meeting attendants from their 'personal page')

Link to chat channel

Markus Diesmann (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH)
CET: 15:50
EDT: 10:50
PDT: 07:50
UTC: 14:50
Poster Lightning Talks
Alberto Vergani (AMU)
Pau Vilimelis Aceituno (ETH Zürich)
Benjamin Cramer (Heidelberg University)
Garibaldi Pineda Garcia (University of Sussex)
Ioannis Polykretis (Rutgers University)
Tobias Thommes (Heidelberg University)
Andrew Fountain (Rochester Institute of Technology)
Ayon Borthakur (Cornell University)
Akos Ferenc Kungl (Heidelberg University)
CET: 16:15
EDT: 11:15
PDT: 08:15
UTC: 15:15
Poster session A (and break)
CET: 17:15
EDT: 12:15
PDT: 09:15
UTC: 16:15
Platform-Agnostic Neural Algorithm Composition using Fugu
(the presentation .pdf is accessible for meeting attendants from their 'personal page'), (the talk video is accessible for meeting attendants via their personal page)

Link to chat channel

William Severa (Sandia National Laboratories)
CET: 17:40
EDT: 12:40
PDT: 09:40
UTC: 16:40
Lightning talk: Implementing Backpropagation for Learning on Neuromorphic Spiking Hardware
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Andrew Sornborger (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
CET: 17:55
EDT: 12:55
PDT: 09:55
UTC: 16:55
Inductive bias transfer between brains and machines
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Fabian Sinz (University Tübingen)
CET: 18:20
EDT: 13:20
PDT: 10:20
UTC: 17:20
Lightning talk: Spike Latency Reduction generates Efficient Predictive Coding
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Pau Vilimelis Aceituno (ETH Zürich)
CET: 18:35
EDT: 13:35
PDT: 10:35
UTC: 17:35
Lightning talk: Cognitive Domain Ontologies: HPCs to Ultra Low Power Neuromorphic Platforms
(the presentation .pdf is accessible for meeting attendants from their 'personal page')

Link to chat channel

Chris Yakopcic (University of Dayton)
CET: 18:50
EDT: 13:50
PDT: 10:50
UTC: 17:50
Open mic / discussion

Link to chat channel

CET: 19:20
EDT: 14:20
PDT: 11:20
UTC: 18:20
(break)
CET: 20:30
EDT: 15:30
PDT: 12:30
UTC: 19:30
Tutorial: Loihi

Link to chat channel

CET: 20:30
EDT: 15:30
PDT: 12:30
UTC: 19:30
 
Intel Loihi's NxSDK: Introduction and overview
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)
Andreas Wild (Intel Corporation)
CET: 20:37
EDT: 15:37
PDT: 12:37
UTC: 19:37
 
A Fast and Efficient Constraint Satisfaction Solver on Loihi
show talk video (YouTube) (local version)
Gabriel Andres Fonseca Guerra (Intel Coorporation)
CET: 21:18
EDT: 16:18
PDT: 13:18
UTC: 20:18
 
SLAYER for Loihi
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)
Sumit Bam Shrestha (Intel Corporation)
CET: 21:52
EDT: 16:52
PDT: 13:52
UTC: 20:52
 
Performance Characterization on Loihi
show talk video (YouTube) (local version)
Garrick Orchard (Intel Corporation)

Thursday, 18 March 2021
CET: 10:00
EDT: 05:00
PDT: 02:00
UTC: 09:00
Tutorial: BrainScaleS hands-on

Link to chat channel

CET: 10:00
EDT: 05:00
PDT: 02:00
UTC: 09:00
 
BrainScaleS-2 hands-on introduction, part I: Spiking mode
show talk video (YouTube) (local version)
Sebastian Billaudelle (Kirchhoff Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University)
CET: 11:00
EDT: 06:00
PDT: 03:00
UTC: 10:00
 
BrainScaleS-2 hands-on introduction, part II: Matrix multiplication mode
show talk video (YouTube) (local version)
Johannes Weis (Kirchhoff-Institute for Physics, Heidelberg University)
CET: 11:15
EDT: 06:15
PDT: 03:15
UTC: 10:15
 
BrainScaleS-2 hands-on introduction, part III: Matrix multiplication mode II
show talk video (YouTube) (local version)
Arne Emmel (Universität Heidelberg)
CET: 11:50
EDT: 06:50
PDT: 03:50
UTC: 10:50
 
(hands-on work with the BSS-2 single chip system)
CET: 13:00
EDT: 08:00
PDT: 05:00
UTC: 12:00
(break)
CET: 14:00
EDT: 09:00
PDT: 06:00
UTC: 13:00
NICE - day III
CET: 14:00
EDT: 09:00
PDT: 06:00
UTC: 13:00
Keynote: Biological inspiration for improving computing and learning in spiking neural networks
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Wolfgang Maass (Graz University of Technology)
CET: 14:45
EDT: 09:45
PDT: 06:45
UTC: 13:45
On the computational power and complexity of Spiking Neural Networks
show presentation.pdf (public accessible)

Link to chat channel

Johan Kwisthout (Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen)
CET: 15:10
EDT: 10:10
PDT: 07:10
UTC: 14:10
Evolutionary Optimization for Neuromorphic Systems
(the presentation .pdf is accessible for meeting attendants from their 'personal page'), (the talk video is accessible for meeting attendants via their personal page)

Link to chat channel

Catherine Schuman (Oak Ridge )
CET: 15:35
EDT: 10:35
PDT: 07:35
UTC: 14:35
An event-based gas sensing device that resolves fast transients in a turbulent environment
(the presentation .pdf is accessible for meeting attendants from their 'personal page'), (the talk video is accessible for meeting attendants via their personal page)

Link to chat channel

Michael Schmuker (University of Hertfordshire)
Damien Drix (University of Hertfordshire)
CET: 16:00
EDT: 11:00
PDT: 08:00
UTC: 15:00
Sequence learning, prediction, and generation in networks of spiking neurons
(the presentation .pdf is accessible for meeting attendants from their 'personal page'), (the talk video is accessible for meeting attendants via their personal page)

Link to chat channel

Younes Bouhadjar (Forschungszentrum Juelich)
CET: 16:25
EDT: 11:25
PDT: 08:25
UTC: 15:25
Poster session b (and break)
CET: 17:25
EDT: 12:25
PDT: 09:25
UTC: 16:25
Lessons from neurobiology and physics: pseudobackprop & more

Link to chat channel

Walter Senn (Universität Bern)
CET: 17:50
EDT: 12:50
PDT: 09:50
UTC: 16:50
Conductance-based dendrites perform reliability-weighted opinion pooling
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Jakob Jordan (Institute of Physiology, University of Bern)
CET: 18:15
EDT: 13:15
PDT: 10:15
UTC: 17:15
Lightning talk: Natural gradient learning for spiking neurons
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Elena Kreutzer (University of Bern)
CET: 18:30
EDT: 13:30
PDT: 10:30
UTC: 17:30
Making spiking neurons more succinct with multi-compartment models
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Johannes Leugering (Fraunhofer IIS)
CET: 18:55
EDT: 13:55
PDT: 10:55
UTC: 17:55
Lightning talk: The Computational Capacity of Mem-LRC Reservoirs
(the presentation .pdf is accessible for meeting attendants from their 'personal page')

Link to chat channel

Forrest Sheldon (Los Alamos National Lab - T-4/CNLS)
CET: 19:10
EDT: 14:10
PDT: 11:10
UTC: 18:10
Open mic / discussion

Link to chat channel

CET: 19:40
EDT: 14:40
PDT: 11:40
UTC: 18:40
(break)
CET: 21:00
EDT: 16:00
PDT: 13:00
UTC: 20:00
Tutorial: SpiNNaker hands-on

Link to chat channel

Friday, 19 March 2021
CET: 10:00
EDT: 05:00
PDT: 02:00
UTC: 09:00
Tutorial:: DYNAP-SE

Link to chat channel

CET: 10:00
EDT: 05:00
PDT: 02:00
UTC: 09:00
 
Dynap-SE1 Demo Session
show talk video (YouTube) (local version)
Yigit Demirag (The Institute of Neuroinformatics, UZH and ETH Zürich)
CET: 10:20
EDT: 05:20
PDT: 02:20
UTC: 09:20
 
Remote demo of the Dynap-SE board
(the talk video is accessible for meeting attendants via their personal page)
Dmitrii Zendrikov (Institute of Neuroinformatics, UZH and ETH Zurich)
CET: 10:35
EDT: 05:35
PDT: 02:35
UTC: 09:35
 
DYNAP-SE tutorial session 2: Simulating Dynap-SE1
show talk video (YouTube) (local version)
Yigit Demirag (The Institute of Neuroinformatics, UZH and ETH Zürich)
CET: 13:00
EDT: 08:00
PDT: 05:00
UTC: 12:00
(break)
CET: 14:00
EDT: 09:00
PDT: 06:00
UTC: 13:00
NICE - day IV
CET: 14:00
EDT: 09:00
PDT: 06:00
UTC: 13:00
Keynote: Bottom-up and top-down neuromorphic processor design: Unveiling roads to embedded cognition
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Charlotte Frenkel (Institute of Neuroinformatics, Zürich, Switzerland)
CET: 14:45
EDT: 09:45
PDT: 06:45
UTC: 13:45
Lightning talk: Subspace Locally Competitive Algorithms
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Dylan Paiton (University of Tübingen)
CET: 15:00
EDT: 10:00
PDT: 07:00
UTC: 14:00
Programming neuromorphic computers: PyNN and beyond
show presentation.pdf (public accessible)

Link to chat channel

Andrew Davison (CNRS)
CET: 15:25
EDT: 10:25
PDT: 07:25
UTC: 14:25
Lightning talk: Neuromorphic Graph Algorithms : Cycle Detection, Odd Cycle Detection, and Max Flow
show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

William Kay (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
CET: 15:40
EDT: 10:40
PDT: 07:40
UTC: 14:40
BrainScaleS: Development Methodologies and Operating System
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Eric Müller (Heidelberg University)
CET: 16:05
EDT: 11:05
PDT: 08:05
UTC: 15:05
Lightning talk: Evolving Spiking Neural Networks for Robot Sensory-motor Decision Tasks of Varying Difficulty
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

J. David Schaffer (Binghamton University)
CET: 16:20
EDT: 11:20
PDT: 08:20
UTC: 15:20
(break)
CET: 16:50
EDT: 11:50
PDT: 08:50
UTC: 15:50
Relational Neurogenesis for Lifelong Learning Agents
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Tej Pandit (University of Texas at San Antonio)
CET: 17:15
EDT: 12:15
PDT: 09:15
UTC: 16:15
Lightning talk: Fast and deep neuromorphic learning with first-spike coding
(the presentation .pdf is accessible for meeting attendants from their 'personal page'), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Julian Goeltz (Kirchhoff Institut fuer Physik, Universitaet Heidelberg)
CET: 17:30
EDT: 12:30
PDT: 09:30
UTC: 16:30
Lightning talk: Neuromorphic Computing for Spacecraft’s Terrain Relative Navigation: A Case of Event-Based Crater Classification Task
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), (the talk video is accessible for meeting attendants via their personal page)

Link to chat channel

Kazuki Kariya (The Graduate University for Advanced Studies, SOKENDAI)
CET: 17:45
EDT: 12:45
PDT: 09:45
UTC: 16:45
Beyond Backprop: Different Approaches to Credit Assignment in Neural Nets
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Irina Rish (MILA / Université de Montréal )
CET: 18:10
EDT: 13:10
PDT: 10:10
UTC: 17:10
Lightning talk: Comparing Neural Accelerators & Neuromorphic Architectures The False Idol of Operations
show presentation.pdf (public accessible), (the talk video is accessible for meeting attendants via their personal page)

Link to chat channel

Craig Vineyard (Sandia National Laboratories )
CET: 18:25
EDT: 13:25
PDT: 10:25
UTC: 17:25
Real-time Mapping on a Neuromorphic Processor
show talk video (YouTube) (local version)

Link to chat channel

Konstantinos Michmizos (Rutgers University)
CET: 18:50
EDT: 13:50
PDT: 10:50
UTC: 17:50
Opn mic / Wrap up
CET: 19:19
EDT: 14:19
PDT: 11:19
UTC: 18:19
Farewell .... and See you next year...
CET: 19:20
EDT: 14:20
PDT: 11:20
UTC: 18:20
End of NICE 2021
Contact: bjoern.kindler@kip.uni-heidelberg.de